Burnsville Teacher Named Semifinalist for Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Sharon Shelerud, a social studies teacher at Metcalf Junior High, was one of 39 who made the cut.

'Like' Burnsville Patch on Facebook, follow us on Twitter or sign up for our daily newsletter.

A veteran of the Burnsville education system has made it into the second round for Minnesota Teacher of the Year. 

Sharon Shelerud, a social studies teacher at Metcalf Junior High, is one of 39 semifinalists for the 2013 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. Initially, the pool was quite large. There were 135 nominees for the honor this year. Officials at Education Minnesota, the union that organizes and underwrites the event, say that this year's pool of contenders is the largest seen since 2005.

Also among the semifinalists are Tom Deris (Prior Lake-Savage), Steven Albaugh (Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan), Dr. Thomas Scott (Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan), Edward Loiselle (Shakopee), and Amanda Marek (Shakopee).

In the weeks to come, Education Minnesota will narrow the field even further to just 10 finalists. The "Teacher of the Year" for 2013 will be announced Sunday, May 5, at the Marriott Minneapolis Northwest in Brooklyn Park.

Click here to see a complete list of the semifinalists.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »