10 Apply for Morrison's Seat on School Board

A crowd of candidates are seeking an appointment to Former School Board Member Gail Morrison's seat.

The field for an open spot on the Burnsville-Eagan-Savage Board of Education is split: Ten residents applied for Former Board Member Gail Morrison's seat. 

Morrison resigned in June, with more than two years left in her term. The board opted to appoint her successor, who will serve as a member until the next general election in 2012. The deadline for applicants passed on July 29.

The applicants are as follows:

Peter Beckel, 11464 Galtier Drive, Burnsville; 
Caryl Breecher, 3400 E. 112th St., Burnsville; 
Sheryl Burkhardt, 2701 Hayes, Drive, Burnsville; 
Steven Cherney, 408 E. 135th St., Burnsville;
Steve Dove, 10913 Southview Drive, Burnsville; 
Mark Korman, 12905 1st Ave. South, Burnsville; 
Seema Pothini, 4173 W. 136th St., Savage; 
William Randall, 2075 Flint Drive, Eagan; 
Clynt Reddy, 12937 Portland Ave., Burnsville, and
Robert VandenBoom, 2062 Royale Drive, Eagan. 

Applicants will be subjected to an interviewed by the Board during a public work session on Aug. 4. The meeting is scheduled to follow the regular meeting which begins at 6:30 p.m. in the Senior Commons, at the Diamondhead Education Center. 

On Aug. 18, the Board members will select an appointee by a simple majority vote. The new board member will be sworn in during the board meeting on Sept. 1, just in time for the new school year.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »